Boyonabike!

Life beyond the automobile in Southern California

Pedaling Gas

I’ve been riding my bike and taking transit for almost all my trips this summer, so I hardly ever have to visit a gas station.  In fact, the last time I put gas in my little Corolla was in early June (and I still have about half a tank left).  Nevertheless, when my lawn mower and weed eater ran out of gas yesterday while my son was mowing the lawn, I needed to go to the gas station to fill the 2-gallon gas can.  So naturally, I rode my bike (what else?).

The gas station is less than a mile from my house, so it was an easy ride, but the clerk behind the counter and the woman filling up her minivan did a double take when I pulled up to the pump on my bike.  I paid 7 bucks for 2 gallons of gas, filled my can, and pedaled it home.  That 2 gallons should last me the better part of a year.  In the meantime, I’m going to keep riding.  With any luck at all, I won’t have to visit the gas station again for quite some time.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Pedaling Gas

  1. When I borrow or rent a car (usually 2-3 times/year) I get reminded of how unpleasant gas stations are. Definitely one of the advantages of bicycling is that it’s nice not to have spend time at gas stations.

Leave a Reply

